Medication for myelofibrosis

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting so please bear with me while I try to find my feet. I have had myelofibrosis for 28 years now. For most of that time I did pretty well, tolerating the drugs and living my life. It was tough at first because my beloved mum died of AML, having initially been diagnosed with MF, albeit a different kind. That was a long time before my own diagnosis though, and things have obviously improved a lot. I was on Interferon for the first few years, then Hydroxycarbamide and low-dose aspirin. All was relatively stable until 3 years ago when a horrible leg ulcer led to my being taken off Hydroxycarbamide. This was replaced by Anagrelide which I tolerated quite well but it wasn’t enough on its own so, after taking much advice, I eventually bit the bullet and decided to go back on Hydroxy. The plan was I would be weaned off Anagrelide but, sadly, that never happened as they simply can’t get my blood counts right. For a while now, I’ve been on high doses of these two toxic drugs and it seemed to be the best dosage since my platelets are on the high side (but not too high) and I am anaemic - and so so tired. If either med is reduced, each of those problems will become more extreme. Now I also have severe breathlessness on even mild exertion and I am undergoing heart tests… they think all my symptoms are down to the Anagrelide and want me to come off it. I will try to find out what my Haematologist thinks at my next appointment in a few weeks’ time but there seems to be so much uncertainty. My immunity is rubbish - currently I have shingles, in pain, with a streaming cold. And I am at a loss. I spent so many years not letting my illness get me down and now I feel like a strain and a burden and just want to feel well and have some energy again! Does anyone else have experience with Anagrelide or an alternative? Thanks for reading. Best wishes, Marilyn x

2 Likes